CHHA Header


  Atlantic University Sport. Formerly Atlantic Universities Athletic Association (AUAA). 
 Bob Kullen Coach of the Year Award 
  Presented annually to the top coach in Hockey East. Named for Bob Kullen, former head coach at the University of New Hampshire. 
 Broadmoor Trophy 
  Awarded to the playoff champion of the WCHA, except from 1982-84, when it was given to the regular season champion. Named for the Broadmoor Hotel, which donated the trophy. 
  Central Collegiate Hockey Association; defunct. 
  College Hockey America. The men's version is defunct. 
  Canadian Intercollegiate Athletic Union. Former name for the governing body for Canadian college athletics. It is now CIS. 
  Canadian Interuniversity Sport. Governing body for Canadian college athletics. 
  Canada West Universities Athletic Association. 
  Eastern College Athletic Conference. Umbrella conference that formerly controlled the Division 1 hockey league. 
  Eastern College Athletic Conference Hockey League. First name used by ECAC Hockey after breaking from the larger ECAC. Now known as ECAC Hockey. 
  Great West Hockey Conference; defunct. 
 Hobey Baker Memorial Award 
  Presented annually to the top player in Division 1 college hockey. Named for Hobart A. H. Baker (Princeton '14), one of the outstanding players of his day. 
  Independent College Athletic Conference; defunct. 
 Kelly Division 
  Formerly half of the AUAA (now AUS). Named for Pete Kelly, former Athletic Director at New Brunswick. 
 Ken Dryden Award 
  ECAC Hockey award presented annually to the best goaltender in the league. Named for Ken Dryden (Cornell '69), who later starred for the Montreal Canadiens in the NHL. 
 Lamoriello Cup 
  Awarded to the playoff champion of Hockey East. Named for Lou Lamoriello (Providence '63), former head coach and athletic director at Providence, first commissioner of Hockey East and current general manager of the New Jersey Devils. 
 Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award 
  Hockey East award presented annually to a player for his performance on and off the ice. Named for Len Ceglarski (Boston College '51), former coach at Clarkson and Boston College. 
  Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference. No longer has a hockey component. 
 MacAdam Division 
  Formerly half of the AUAA (now AUS). Named for A. J. MacAdam, former Athletic Director at Prince Edward Island. 
 MacNaughton Cup 
  Awarded to the regular season champion of the WCHA. Purchased by James MacNaughton in 1913 and donated to the MCHL in 1951. Michigan Tech. owns the deed to the cup, and when they left to play in the CCHA, the cup went with them. When Michigan Tech. returned to the WCHA in 1984, they brought the cup back. From 1962-65 it was presented to the league's playoff champion. 
 Madison Square Garden III and IV 
  Arenas in New York that hosted the ECAC Holiday Hockey Festival in the 60's and 70's. For the record, neither one was located at Madison Square. MSG III was at Eighth Ave. and 50th St., MSG IV, which replaced MSG III in 1968, is at Eighth Ave. and 33rd St. They derived their name from MSG I and II, which were both at Madison Square (which is between Park and Fifth Avenues from 23rd St. to 26th St.). 
 Mariucci Arena I and II 
  Homes of the Minnesota Golden Gophers. The original Mariucci was known first as Williams Arena, is now the Sports Pavilion, and was replaced by the new arena in 1993. They were both named for former Minnesota head coach John Mariucci (Minnesota '40). 
  Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference. 
  Midwest Collegiate Hockey Association; defunct. 
  Midwest Collegiate Hockey League. Earliest forerunner of the WCHA. 
  Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference. 
  National Collegiate Athletic Association. Governing body for major U.S. collegiate athletics. 
  Northern Collegiate Hockey Association. 
  National Collegiate Hockey Conference. 
  New England Small College Athletic Conference. 
  Ontario Universities Athletics. Formerly Ontario Universities Athletic Association (OUAA). 
 Perani Cup 
  CCHA award given to the player who earned the most points throughout the season each time they were named a "star of the game." Sponsored by Perani's Hockey World of Flint, Michigan. 
 Scotty Whitelaw Trophy 
  Awarded to the playoff champion of ECAC Hockey. Named for Robert M. "Scotty" Whitelaw, former commissioner of the ECAC (the umbrella organization). 
 Spencer T. Penrose Award 
  Presented annually to the top Division 1 head coach. Named for Spencer T. Penrose, who made a fortune in gold and copper, then used it to build the Broadmoor Hotel and adjacent sports complex. The Broadmoor Ice Palace hosted the first 10 NCAA Championships. 
  State University of New York Athletic Conference. 
 Terry Flanagan Memorial Award 
  CCHA award given to an upperclassman who overcame personal adversity. Terry Flanagan (New Hampshire '79) was an assistant coach at Bowling Green when he passed away in 1991 from cancer. 
  Western Collegiate Hockey Association. 
  Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference. 
  Western Intercollegiate Hockey League. Forerunner of the WCHA. 
 William Flynn Tournament MVP Award 
  Hockey East award given annually to the most valuable player in the conference tournament. Named for William Flynn, former Athletic Director at Boston College. 
CHHA Footer