CHHA Header

History of the NCHC

 The National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) was formed as a reaction to the creation of the Big Ten Hockey Conference. When Wisconsin and Minnesota departed the WCHA, existing differences in philosophy among the remaining schools prompted five of them (Colorado College, Denver, Minnesota-Duluth, Nebraska-Omaha and North Dakota) to form their own conference along with CCHA member Miami. The NCHC attempted to draw Notre Dame into its fold, but they opted for Hockey East instead, after which Western Michigan (of the CCHA) and St. Cloud State (from the WCHA) were invited to join, bringing the total number of teams in the inaugural 2013-14 season of the conference to eight. What remains to be seen is how some of these schools, all of which are accustomed to success, deal with being in the bottom half of the standings.

CHHA Footer